craft · DIY · Rabbit Condo

House Rabbit Home

Hi everyone,

So here are some pictures of the second Rabbit condo I made. My first attempt was the standard Rabbit Condo made using the NIC storage cubes. Now I loved my first cage but after a year I decided that I wanted something that looked more like furniture.

I spent what felt like an age searching for ideas or items I could re-purpose or recycle. I didn’t want to loose the space my rabbits had. The RSPCA suggest that your rabbit should be able to stretch out fully and stand on their hind legs without their ears touching the rooft of the cage. They also mention theimportance of shelter and being able to hop.

The standard NIC condo offers all of this and tutorials can be found on YouTube just search Rabbit Condo.

I eventually made plans for the home I have made, please note this ‘cage’ did not require the use of a drill and can be made without a saw!

20130810-013931.jpg

20130810-013953.jpg

20130810-014212.jpg

20130810-014239.jpg

20130810-014311.jpg

13 thoughts on “House Rabbit Home

  1. Hi crafty! I was just wondering if you could provide a list of materials you used, especially important but small ones like the materials you used to attach the building cubes to the actual walls of the condo? I would appreciate your help!

    Thanks you!

    1. Hi Joan,

      To attach the doors I had planned to drill the sides is the cage and use cable ties but I managed to find sticky back cable tie boxes.

      You simple peel the plastic off the back and stick them down, they have a hole in then to thread a cable tie inside.

      Everything else was put together using ‘modesty blocks’ they can be found in the carbonate making section of B&Q.

      If you need anything else please let me know. Thank you!

  2. This is absolutely awesome!!! You’re really talented! I’d love to make something like this for my newly bonded bunnies. Would it be possible for you to send me a tutorial? I’m a newbie at diy projects :/ lol

  3. I was curious as to the measurements you used for your bunny condo, more so just the height, length and width of the condo.

    1. I used a product called modesty blocks, they let you secure two pieces of wood at a right angle to each other. You can find them on Google image for a better idea. I also used one long 2by4 piece of wood to support the shelf.

      I am going to try to find some time to make a scale model as I often get questions on this hutch and I could kick myself for not filming the building process

Leave a Reply

