Uncategorized

Leaving card

My boyfriends sister is moving to Australia for a year so he asked me to make her a going away card.
I wanted to keep the theme light hearted, none of this, “So sad you are leaving” or “we will miss you” business. I know she likes Disney so I went with an “Up” theme.

IMG_3752.JPG
Tools:
5″ by 7″ card blank
White card stock
Coloured card stock (various)
2″ square punch
Craft knife / scissors
Gems
Blue ink
Black sharpie pen
Twine
Glue
Pop dots (small double sided sticky foam pads)
Tim holts distress ink (milled lavender)

1.Cut the white card stock down to 4 &6/8th and 76/7th inches. You can also emboss the card for added texture. Ink the edges and stick to your card base. If you have a cloud stamp you can ink it up and do a second generation stamp. (basically stamp on scrap paper and then onto the finished card to give a lighter inking) I don’t have a cloud stamp so I cut a template and sponged on the blue ink clouds.

2. Use the 2 inch square punch to cut the house and the roof. For the roof you will cut one of the squares in half diagonally to get a triangle.

3. Cut a small fence and windows. Either colour in a door handle and curtails or cut extra small bits of card stock to fit. Ink all the edges and stick all the elements of the house together and set aside.

4. Time to cut your balloons from different coloured paper or card scraps. As you can tell I don’t have a balloon punch so I had to draw a template and then cut these out free hand..Glue twine round the bottom of the balloons leaving extra to ‘attach’ to the house.

5. Place your completed house onto the card and make a pencil mark where the tip of the roof is. This will give you a guideline for arranging your balloons and sticking down the twine. I found that using sellotape to hold the twin down under the house worked best.

6. Once your balloons are arranged and glued you can use your pop dots to stick down the house. Cut some card stock for your sentiment, I chose to write the phrase “Adventure is out there” from the movie “Up”. I inked the edges then used a corner rounder and some extra pop dots to make it stand out. I added a few gems and punched out a butterfly to finish it off.

For the inside of the card I used an alphabet die to cut the letters “Good Luck”

Leave a Reply

